Passive FTP Enabled on MacBook After Apple Store Reset and Other Observations

· Medium ·

2 min read Original article ↗

macOS Firewall

Let’s take a look at my post-Apple Store DFU macOS Firewall Settings… First, all these entries — they don’t seem normal. Note that I manually set these entries to Block. Now let’s try interacting:

Press enter or click to view image in full size

I’m pretty sure pressing Ok isn’t supposed to undo the changes you make to the Firewall settings

Every time I close the window the settings reset back to allowing any “signed” local software to accept any incoming connections.

There’s no good reason these controls should toggle back on.

Searching Google or interacting with its AI mode will source various Apple Community Notes that seem less than trustworthy¹.

This Connection Is Not Secure

When I use:
sudo networksetup -setnetworkserviceenabled “Wi-Fi” off
I get This Connection Is Not Secure in Safari:

Press enter or click to view image in full size

This Connection Is Not Secure displays when setnetworkserviceenabled turns off Wi-Fi but not when the Wi-Fi is toggled off.

When I bring my WiFi back up it goes right back to a valid connection.

System Configuration PLISTs

When I run sudo plutil -p /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/preferences.plist I get some concerning results, including an indication there’s a constant FTP stream associated with my connection:

Specifies en0 as WiFi. Includes a series of DNS, IPv4, IPv6, Proxy, FTP, SMB, and purported “User Defined” changes.

Unfortunately, Apple’s documentation is so sparse I can’t tell what is supposed to be here or not. It doesn’t seem correct that there’s a default passive FTP turned on as a default in macOS while Lockdown Mode is enabled.

Bonus

Bonus from a MacBook Pro in my home I suspect to be infected. You’ll note the “When using this certificate” swaps from Never Trust to Always Trust:

Press enter or click to view image in full size

It’s easy to miss, but at the 3 second mark when I click the Details dropdown to collapse Details at about the 2-second mark, the drop-downs switch from “Never Allow” to “Always Allow”.