Delete your account by submitting a request to our Privacy Portal or within ChatGPT directly.
If you only want to cancel your ChatGPT Plus subscription without deleting your entire account, please see How to Cancel My ChatGPT Subscription. Deleting your OpenAI account will automatically cancel any active ChatGPT Plus subscription linked to it, ensuring you are not charged after deletion.
How to delete your OpenAI account
Option B: Self-serve in ChatGPT
Common issues
You cannot recover chats once you delete them. If you want to remove a chat from being visible in your chat history but retain it in your account, you should use the archive function.
Note: We do not permit reactivating email addresses that were previously associated with an Enterprise organization, or were disabled for a violation of our terms or policies.
Can I change my authentication method after account deletion?
⚠️ Deleting your account does NOT allow you to change your authentication method.
That said, if you originally signed up for OpenAI / ChatGPT with an email and password then in future logins you can choose Google/Apple login allowing users in that situation to then log in either way.